summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>2016-04-20 11:32:35 -0400
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-04-22 09:00:57 +0200
commitc2bb9e32e2315971a8535fee77335c04a739d71d (patch)
treec20a0c8705724c08f4e8a76efabd8d01fe09ed6e
parentb1547d3101e74e809b9790174b27f1080747b009 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-c2bb9e32e2315971a8535fee77335c04a739d71d.tar.gz
objtool: Fix Makefile to properly see if libelf is supported
When doing a make allmodconfig, I hit the following compile error: In file included from builtin-check.c:32:0: elf.h:22:18: fatal error: gelf.h: No such file or directory compilation terminated. ... Digging into it, it appears that the $(shell ..) command in the Makefile does not give the proper result when it fails to find -lelf, and continues to compile objtool. Instead, use the "try-run" makefile macro to perform the test. This gives a proper result for both cases. Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Acked-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Bernd Petrovitsch <bernd@petrovitsch.priv.at> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Chris J Arges <chris.j.arges@canonical.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Pedro Alves <palves@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: live-patching@vger.kernel.org Fixes: 442f04c34a1a4 ("objtool: Add tool to perform compile-time stack metadata validation") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160420153234.GA24032@home.goodmis.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--Makefile3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/Makefile b/Makefile
index 1d0aef03eae7..70ca38ef9f4b 100644
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -1008,7 +1008,8 @@ prepare0: archprepare FORCE
prepare: prepare0 prepare-objtool
ifdef CONFIG_STACK_VALIDATION
- has_libelf := $(shell echo "int main() {}" | $(HOSTCC) -xc -o /dev/null -lelf - &> /dev/null && echo 1 || echo 0)
+ has_libelf := $(call try-run,\
+ echo "int main() {}" | $(HOSTCC) -xc -o /dev/null -lelf -,1,0)
ifeq ($(has_libelf),1)
objtool_target := tools/objtool FORCE
else