summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>2016-09-28 16:06:33 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-09-30 13:53:04 +0200
commit05fb3c199bb09f5b85de56cc3ede194ac95c5e1f (patch)
treea77a4e4668b1f1458cf3afed17eeb3489fc24eb8
parente4aad64597d7a2455a541f904365b48d607916db (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-05fb3c199bb09f5b85de56cc3ede194ac95c5e1f.tar.gz
x86/boot: Initialize FPU and X86_FEATURE_ALWAYS even if we don't have CPUID
Otherwise arch_task_struct_size == 0 and we die. While we're at it, set X86_FEATURE_ALWAYS, too. Reported-by: David Saggiorato <david@saggiorato.net> Tested-by: David Saggiorato <david@saggiorato.net> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@sr71.net> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Fixes: aaeb5c01c5b ("x86/fpu, sched: Introduce CONFIG_ARCH_WANTS_DYNAMIC_TASK_STRUCT and use it on x86") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/8de723afbf0811071185039f9088733188b606c9.1475103911.git.luto@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c23
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
index 809eda03c527..bcc9ccc220c9 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
@@ -804,21 +804,20 @@ static void __init early_identify_cpu(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)
identify_cpu_without_cpuid(c);
/* cyrix could have cpuid enabled via c_identify()*/
- if (!have_cpuid_p())
- return;
+ if (have_cpuid_p()) {
+ cpu_detect(c);
+ get_cpu_vendor(c);
+ get_cpu_cap(c);
- cpu_detect(c);
- get_cpu_vendor(c);
- get_cpu_cap(c);
-
- if (this_cpu->c_early_init)
- this_cpu->c_early_init(c);
+ if (this_cpu->c_early_init)
+ this_cpu->c_early_init(c);
- c->cpu_index = 0;
- filter_cpuid_features(c, false);
+ c->cpu_index = 0;
+ filter_cpuid_features(c, false);
- if (this_cpu->c_bsp_init)
- this_cpu->c_bsp_init(c);
+ if (this_cpu->c_bsp_init)
+ this_cpu->c_bsp_init(c);
+ }
setup_force_cpu_cap(X86_FEATURE_ALWAYS);
fpu__init_system(c);