summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>2018-03-14 19:29:37 +0000
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-03-14 16:33:28 -0700
commit3e04040df6d4613a8af5a80882d5f7f298f49810 (patch)
tree6aa6d607f562ab2804bfe1ee94a4afcc296e4590
parent274a1ff0704bc8fef76dbe2d6fb197ddbc23f380 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-3e04040df6d4613a8af5a80882d5f7f298f49810.tar.gz
Revert "mm/page_alloc: fix memmap_init_zone pageblock alignment"
This reverts commit 864b75f9d6b0100bb24fdd9a20d156e7cda9b5ae. Commit 864b75f9d6b0 ("mm/page_alloc: fix memmap_init_zone pageblock alignment") modified the logic in memmap_init_zone() to initialize struct pages associated with invalid PFNs, to appease a VM_BUG_ON() in move_freepages(), which is redundant by its own admission, and dereferences struct page fields to obtain the zone without checking whether the struct pages in question are valid to begin with. Commit 864b75f9d6b0 only makes it worse, since the rounding it does may cause pfn assume the same value it had in a prior iteration of the loop, resulting in an infinite loop and a hang very early in the boot. Also, since it doesn't perform the same rounding on start_pfn itself but only on intermediate values following an invalid PFN, we may still hit the same VM_BUG_ON() as before. So instead, let's fix this at the core, and ensure that the BUG check doesn't dereference struct page fields of invalid pages. Fixes: 864b75f9d6b0 ("mm/page_alloc: fix memmap_init_zone pageblock alignment") Tested-by: Jan Glauber <jglauber@cavium.com> Tested-by: Shanker Donthineni <shankerd@codeaurora.org> Cc: Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@imgtec.com> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c13
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index 3d974cb2a1a1..635d7dd29d7f 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -1910,7 +1910,9 @@ static int move_freepages(struct zone *zone,
* Remove at a later date when no bug reports exist related to
* grouping pages by mobility
*/
- VM_BUG_ON(page_zone(start_page) != page_zone(end_page));
+ VM_BUG_ON(pfn_valid(page_to_pfn(start_page)) &&
+ pfn_valid(page_to_pfn(end_page)) &&
+ page_zone(start_page) != page_zone(end_page));
#endif
if (num_movable)
@@ -5359,14 +5361,9 @@ void __meminit memmap_init_zone(unsigned long size, int nid, unsigned long zone,
/*
* Skip to the pfn preceding the next valid one (or
* end_pfn), such that we hit a valid pfn (or end_pfn)
- * on our next iteration of the loop. Note that it needs
- * to be pageblock aligned even when the region itself
- * is not. move_freepages_block() can shift ahead of
- * the valid region but still depends on correct page
- * metadata.
+ * on our next iteration of the loop.
*/
- pfn = (memblock_next_valid_pfn(pfn, end_pfn) &
- ~(pageblock_nr_pages-1)) - 1;
+ pfn = memblock_next_valid_pfn(pfn, end_pfn) - 1;
#endif
continue;
}