summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/bpf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJosh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>2016-02-28 22:22:37 -0600
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-02-29 08:35:11 +0100
commit39853cc0cdcf1b11f00f7f81e2f515a4d68ed209 (patch)
treed7db9b33e2acb9d371492a0a9ffe005e5130f9e4 /kernel/bpf
parent983bb6d254c77aaec581473e11c2eb859294f1f2 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-39853cc0cdcf1b11f00f7f81e2f515a4d68ed209.tar.gz
bpf: Mark __bpf_prog_run() stack frame as non-standard
objtool reports the following false positive warnings: kernel/bpf/core.o: warning: objtool: __bpf_prog_run()+0x5c: sibling call from callable instruction with changed frame pointer kernel/bpf/core.o: warning: objtool: __bpf_prog_run()+0x60: function has unreachable instruction kernel/bpf/core.o: warning: objtool: __bpf_prog_run()+0x64: function has unreachable instruction [...] It's confused by the following dynamic jump instruction in __bpf_prog_run():: jmp *(%r12,%rax,8) which corresponds to the following line in the C code: goto *jumptable[insn->code]; There's no way for objtool to deterministically find all possible branch targets for a dynamic jump, so it can't verify this code. In this case the jumps all stay within the function, and there's nothing unusual going on related to the stack, so we can whitelist the function. Signed-off-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Acked-by: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net> Acked-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Bernd Petrovitsch <bernd@petrovitsch.priv.at> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Chris J Arges <chris.j.arges@canonical.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Pedro Alves <palves@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: live-patching@vger.kernel.org Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/b90e6bf3fdbfb5c4cc1b164b965502e53cf48935.1456719558.git.jpoimboe@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/bpf')
-rw-r--r--kernel/bpf/core.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/bpf/core.c b/kernel/bpf/core.c
index 972d9a8e4ac4..be0abf669ced 100644
--- a/kernel/bpf/core.c
+++ b/kernel/bpf/core.c
@@ -27,6 +27,7 @@
#include <linux/random.h>
#include <linux/moduleloader.h>
#include <linux/bpf.h>
+#include <linux/frame.h>
#include <asm/unaligned.h>
@@ -649,6 +650,7 @@ load_byte:
WARN_RATELIMIT(1, "unknown opcode %02x\n", insn->code);
return 0;
}
+STACK_FRAME_NON_STANDARD(__bpf_prog_run); /* jump table */
bool bpf_prog_array_compatible(struct bpf_array *array,
const struct bpf_prog *fp)