summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/bpf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-04-21 12:28:50 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-04-27 10:20:39 -0300
commitc5dfd78eb79851e278b7973031b9ca363da87a7e (patch)
treeeb48703a86c059b4de2a13e4c7021232c22e3715 /kernel/bpf
parentc2a218c63ba36946aca5943c0c8ebd3a42e3dc4b (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-c5dfd78eb79851e278b7973031b9ca363da87a7e.tar.gz
perf core: Allow setting up max frame stack depth via sysctl
The default remains 127, which is good for most cases, and not even hit most of the time, but then for some cases, as reported by Brendan, 1024+ deep frames are appearing on the radar for things like groovy, ruby. And in some workloads putting a _lower_ cap on this may make sense. One that is per event still needs to be put in place tho. The new file is: # cat /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_stack 127 Chaging it: # echo 256 > /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_stack # cat /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_stack 256 But as soon as there is some event using callchains we get: # echo 512 > /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_max_stack -bash: echo: write error: Device or resource busy # Because we only allocate the callchain percpu data structures when there is a user, which allows for changing the max easily, its just a matter of having no callchain users at that point. Reported-and-Tested-by: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Acked-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Acked-by: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Cc: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160426002928.GB16708@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/bpf')
-rw-r--r--kernel/bpf/stackmap.c8
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/bpf/stackmap.c b/kernel/bpf/stackmap.c
index 499d9e933f8e..f5a19548be12 100644
--- a/kernel/bpf/stackmap.c
+++ b/kernel/bpf/stackmap.c
@@ -66,7 +66,7 @@ static struct bpf_map *stack_map_alloc(union bpf_attr *attr)
/* check sanity of attributes */
if (attr->max_entries == 0 || attr->key_size != 4 ||
value_size < 8 || value_size % 8 ||
- value_size / 8 > PERF_MAX_STACK_DEPTH)
+ value_size / 8 > sysctl_perf_event_max_stack)
return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
/* hash table size must be power of 2 */
@@ -124,8 +124,8 @@ static u64 bpf_get_stackid(u64 r1, u64 r2, u64 flags, u64 r4, u64 r5)
struct perf_callchain_entry *trace;
struct stack_map_bucket *bucket, *new_bucket, *old_bucket;
u32 max_depth = map->value_size / 8;
- /* stack_map_alloc() checks that max_depth <= PERF_MAX_STACK_DEPTH */
- u32 init_nr = PERF_MAX_STACK_DEPTH - max_depth;
+ /* stack_map_alloc() checks that max_depth <= sysctl_perf_event_max_stack */
+ u32 init_nr = sysctl_perf_event_max_stack - max_depth;
u32 skip = flags & BPF_F_SKIP_FIELD_MASK;
u32 hash, id, trace_nr, trace_len;
bool user = flags & BPF_F_USER_STACK;
@@ -143,7 +143,7 @@ static u64 bpf_get_stackid(u64 r1, u64 r2, u64 flags, u64 r4, u64 r5)
return -EFAULT;
/* get_perf_callchain() guarantees that trace->nr >= init_nr
- * and trace-nr <= PERF_MAX_STACK_DEPTH, so trace_nr <= max_depth
+ * and trace-nr <= sysctl_perf_event_max_stack, so trace_nr <= max_depth
*/
trace_nr = trace->nr - init_nr;