summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/exit.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>2016-03-25 14:20:27 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-03-25 16:37:42 -0700
commit36324a990cf578b57828c04cd85ac62cd25cf5a4 (patch)
tree69480f4bf3a00a32ddf2d4a9a7fd67bbe45a3c0b /kernel/exit.c
parentaac453635549699c13a84ea1456d5b0e574ef855 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-36324a990cf578b57828c04cd85ac62cd25cf5a4.tar.gz
oom: clear TIF_MEMDIE after oom_reaper managed to unmap the address space
When oom_reaper manages to unmap all the eligible vmas there shouldn't be much of the freable memory held by the oom victim left anymore so it makes sense to clear the TIF_MEMDIE flag for the victim and allow the OOM killer to select another task. The lack of TIF_MEMDIE also means that the victim cannot access memory reserves anymore but that shouldn't be a problem because it would get the access again if it needs to allocate and hits the OOM killer again due to the fatal_signal_pending resp. PF_EXITING check. We can safely hide the task from the OOM killer because it is clearly not a good candidate anymore as everyhing reclaimable has been torn down already. This patch will allow to cap the time an OOM victim can keep TIF_MEMDIE and thus hold off further global OOM killer actions granted the oom reaper is able to take mmap_sem for the associated mm struct. This is not guaranteed now but further steps should make sure that mmap_sem for write should be blocked killable which will help to reduce such a lock contention. This is not done by this patch. Note that exit_oom_victim might be called on a remote task from __oom_reap_task now so we have to check and clear the flag atomically otherwise we might race and underflow oom_victims or wake up waiters too early. Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Suggested-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Suggested-by: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Andrea Argangeli <andrea@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/exit.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/exit.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 953d1a1c0387..fd90195667e1 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -435,7 +435,7 @@ static void exit_mm(struct task_struct *tsk)
mm_update_next_owner(mm);
mmput(mm);
if (test_thread_flag(TIF_MEMDIE))
- exit_oom_victim();
+ exit_oom_victim(tsk);
}
static struct task_struct *find_alive_thread(struct task_struct *p)