summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/exit.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>2014-12-10 15:45:33 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-12-10 17:41:10 -0800
commit7c8bd2322c7fd973d089b27de55e29c92c667a06 (patch)
tree8d9c9d6dbc32eabc303368d913dab3c683b94e2d /kernel/exit.c
parent2831096e21503897ee474c23131c3feb8db0ffb1 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-7c8bd2322c7fd973d089b27de55e29c92c667a06.tar.gz
exit: ptrace: shift "reap dead" code from exit_ptrace() to forget_original_parent()
Now that forget_original_parent() uses ->ptrace_entry for EXIT_DEAD tasks, we can simply pass "dead_children" list to exit_ptrace() and remove another release_task() loop. Plus this way we do not need to drop and reacquire tasklist_lock. Also shift the list_empty(ptraced) check, if we want this optimization it makes sense to eliminate the function call altogether. Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@redhat.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>, Cc: Sterling Alexander <stalexan@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/exit.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/exit.c10
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 772e9175735c..9c9526d87276 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -553,13 +553,11 @@ static void forget_original_parent(struct task_struct *father)
LIST_HEAD(dead_children);
write_lock_irq(&tasklist_lock);
- /*
- * Note that exit_ptrace() and find_new_reaper() might
- * drop tasklist_lock and reacquire it.
- */
- exit_ptrace(father);
- reaper = find_new_reaper(father);
+ if (unlikely(!list_empty(&father->ptraced)))
+ exit_ptrace(father, &dead_children);
+ /* Can drop and reacquire tasklist_lock */
+ reaper = find_new_reaper(father);
list_for_each_entry(p, &father->children, sibling) {
for_each_thread(p, t) {
t->real_parent = reaper;