summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/exit.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>2014-08-15 16:05:36 -0400
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2014-09-08 08:17:00 +0200
commit90ed9cbe765ad358b3151a12b8bf889a3cbcd573 (patch)
tree4c0e144c98d2c4822d1308166eb94de3c70c647f /kernel/exit.c
parente2627dce268024aff962132057cb8acb219c9c40 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-90ed9cbe765ad358b3151a12b8bf889a3cbcd573.tar.gz
exit: Always reap resource stats in __exit_signal()
Oleg pointed out that wait_task_zombie adds a task's usage statistics to the parent's signal struct, but the task's own signal struct should also propagate the statistics at exit time. This allows thread_group_cputime(reaped_zombie) to get the statistics after __unhash_process() has made the task invisible to for_each_thread, but before the thread has actually been rcu freed, making sure no non-monotonic results are returned inside that window. Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Guillaume Morin <guillaume@morinfr.org> Cc: Ionut Alexa <ionut.m.alexa@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Michal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: umgwanakikbuti@gmail.com Cc: fweisbec@gmail.com Cc: srao@redhat.com Cc: lwoodman@redhat.com Cc: atheurer@redhat.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1408133138-22048-2-git-send-email-riel@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/exit.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/exit.c43
1 files changed, 21 insertions, 22 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 32c58f7433a3..b93d46dab6fc 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -115,30 +115,29 @@ static void __exit_signal(struct task_struct *tsk)
if (tsk == sig->curr_target)
sig->curr_target = next_thread(tsk);
- /*
- * Accumulate here the counters for all threads but the
- * group leader as they die, so they can be added into
- * the process-wide totals when those are taken.
- * The group leader stays around as a zombie as long
- * as there are other threads. When it gets reaped,
- * the exit.c code will add its counts into these totals.
- * We won't ever get here for the group leader, since it
- * will have been the last reference on the signal_struct.
- */
- task_cputime(tsk, &utime, &stime);
- sig->utime += utime;
- sig->stime += stime;
- sig->gtime += task_gtime(tsk);
- sig->min_flt += tsk->min_flt;
- sig->maj_flt += tsk->maj_flt;
- sig->nvcsw += tsk->nvcsw;
- sig->nivcsw += tsk->nivcsw;
- sig->inblock += task_io_get_inblock(tsk);
- sig->oublock += task_io_get_oublock(tsk);
- task_io_accounting_add(&sig->ioac, &tsk->ioac);
- sig->sum_sched_runtime += tsk->se.sum_exec_runtime;
}
+ /*
+ * Accumulate here the counters for all threads but the group leader
+ * as they die, so they can be added into the process-wide totals
+ * when those are taken. The group leader stays around as a zombie as
+ * long as there are other threads. When it gets reaped, the exit.c
+ * code will add its counts into these totals. We won't ever get here
+ * for the group leader, since it will have been the last reference on
+ * the signal_struct.
+ */
+ task_cputime(tsk, &utime, &stime);
+ sig->utime += utime;
+ sig->stime += stime;
+ sig->gtime += task_gtime(tsk);
+ sig->min_flt += tsk->min_flt;
+ sig->maj_flt += tsk->maj_flt;
+ sig->nvcsw += tsk->nvcsw;
+ sig->nivcsw += tsk->nivcsw;
+ sig->inblock += task_io_get_inblock(tsk);
+ sig->oublock += task_io_get_oublock(tsk);
+ task_io_accounting_add(&sig->ioac, &tsk->ioac);
+ sig->sum_sched_runtime += tsk->se.sum_exec_runtime;
sig->nr_threads--;
__unhash_process(tsk, group_dead);