summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/exit.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>2014-04-07 15:38:45 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-04-07 16:36:06 -0700
commitb3ab03160dfaf8ab78d476b670de319f4c1a5685 (patch)
tree1ba7dbadf646e9d5c9939625a001e257ac91a12c /kernel/exit.c
parentb436069059fede30ca31d4bf439cc86436ff5b1d (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-b3ab03160dfaf8ab78d476b670de319f4c1a5685.tar.gz
wait: completely ignore the EXIT_DEAD tasks
Now that EXIT_DEAD is the terminal state it doesn't make sense to call eligible_child() or security_task_wait() if the task is really dead. Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Tested-by: Michal Schmidt <mschmidt@redhat.com> Cc: Jan Kratochvil <jan.kratochvil@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk> Cc: Lennart Poettering <lpoetter@redhat.com> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/exit.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/exit.c11
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 4773ed990907..33cf8dba0a61 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -1329,7 +1329,12 @@ static int wait_task_continued(struct wait_opts *wo, struct task_struct *p)
static int wait_consider_task(struct wait_opts *wo, int ptrace,
struct task_struct *p)
{
- int ret = eligible_child(wo, p);
+ int ret;
+
+ if (unlikely(p->exit_state == EXIT_DEAD))
+ return 0;
+
+ ret = eligible_child(wo, p);
if (!ret)
return ret;
@@ -1347,10 +1352,6 @@ static int wait_consider_task(struct wait_opts *wo, int ptrace,
return 0;
}
- /* dead body doesn't have much to contribute */
- if (unlikely(p->exit_state == EXIT_DEAD))
- return 0;
-
if (unlikely(p->exit_state == EXIT_TRACE)) {
/*
* ptrace == 0 means we are the natural parent. In this case