summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/notifier.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>2015-07-03 12:44:22 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-07-07 10:59:04 +0200
commite727c7d7a11e109849582e9165d54b254eb181d7 (patch)
treee01abf37efb0e6e67b4cd1f80f554f7929e61ef5 /kernel/notifier.c
parentf9281648ecd5081803bb2da84b9ccb0cf48436cd (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-e727c7d7a11e109849582e9165d54b254eb181d7.tar.gz
notifiers, RCU: Assert that RCU is watching in notify_die()
Low-level arch entries often call notify_die(), and it's easy for arch code to fail to exit an RCU quiescent state first. Assert that we're not quiescent in notify_die(). Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1f5fe6c23d5b432a23267102f2d72b787d80fdd8.1435952415.git.luto@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/notifier.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/notifier.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/notifier.c b/kernel/notifier.c
index ae9fc7cc360e..980e4330fb59 100644
--- a/kernel/notifier.c
+++ b/kernel/notifier.c
@@ -544,6 +544,8 @@ int notrace notify_die(enum die_val val, const char *str,
.signr = sig,
};
+ rcu_lockdep_assert(rcu_is_watching(),
+ "notify_die called but RCU thinks we're quiescent");
return atomic_notifier_call_chain(&die_chain, val, &args);
}
NOKPROBE_SYMBOL(notify_die);