summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/params.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>2012-01-13 09:32:17 +1030
committerRusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>2012-01-13 09:32:17 +1030
commit69116f279a9eaf4c540934269342d9149538fc79 (patch)
treeeb335b97a99fb25ce548dd06f053a81e3c56016f /kernel/params.c
parentbafeafeab94b8d3019aac15c2df2ce47b08a6363 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-69116f279a9eaf4c540934269342d9149538fc79.tar.gz
module_param: avoid bool abuse, add bint for special cases.
For historical reasons, we allow module_param(bool) to take an int (or an unsigned int). That's going away. A few drivers really want an int: they set it to -1 and a parameter will set it to 0 or 1. This sucks: reading them from sysfs will give 'Y' for both -1 and 1, but if we change it to an int, then the users might be broken (if they did "param" instead of "param=1"). Use a new 'bint' parser for them. (ntfs has a different problem: it needs an int for debug_msgs because it's also exposed via sysctl.) Cc: Steve Glendinning <steve.glendinning@smsc.com> Cc: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org> Cc: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com> Cc: Hoang-Nam Nguyen <hnguyen@de.ibm.com> Cc: Christoph Raisch <raisch@de.ibm.com> Cc: Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org> Cc: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com> Cc: Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com> Cc: linux390@de.ibm.com Cc: Anton Altaparmakov <anton@tuxera.com> Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Cc: lm-sensors@lm-sensors.org Cc: linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: alsa-devel@alsa-project.org Acked-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> (For the sound part) Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com> (For the hwmon driver) Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/params.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/params.c24
1 files changed, 24 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/params.c b/kernel/params.c
index 9240664af110..32ee04308285 100644
--- a/kernel/params.c
+++ b/kernel/params.c
@@ -363,6 +363,30 @@ struct kernel_param_ops param_ops_invbool = {
};
EXPORT_SYMBOL(param_ops_invbool);
+int param_set_bint(const char *val, const struct kernel_param *kp)
+{
+ struct kernel_param boolkp;
+ bool v;
+ int ret;
+
+ /* Match bool exactly, by re-using it. */
+ boolkp = *kp;
+ boolkp.arg = &v;
+ boolkp.flags |= KPARAM_ISBOOL;
+
+ ret = param_set_bool(val, &boolkp);
+ if (ret == 0)
+ *(int *)kp->arg = v;
+ return ret;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(param_set_bint);
+
+struct kernel_param_ops param_ops_bint = {
+ .set = param_set_bint,
+ .get = param_get_int,
+};
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(param_ops_bint);
+
/* We break the rule and mangle the string. */
static int param_array(const char *name,
const char *val,