summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/sysctl.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-12 13:06:21 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2016-05-16 23:11:53 -0300
commitc85b03349640b34f3545503c8429fc43005e9a92 (patch)
tree4f226f1fa1c7b0399fba6986100418427e30870e /kernel/sysctl.c
parent3e4de4ec4cfea40994b47a79767610153edbf45b (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-c85b03349640b34f3545503c8429fc43005e9a92.tar.gz
perf core: Separate accounting of contexts and real addresses in a stack trace
The perf_sample->ip_callchain->nr value includes all the entries in the ip_callchain->ip[] array, real addresses and PERF_CONTEXT_{KERNEL,USER,etc}, while what the user expects is that what is in the kernel.perf_event_max_stack sysctl or in the upcoming per event perf_event_attr.sample_max_stack knob be honoured in terms of IP addresses in the stack trace. So allocate a bunch of extra entries for contexts, and do the accounting via perf_callchain_entry_ctx struct members. A new sysctl, kernel.perf_event_max_contexts_per_stack is also introduced for investigating possible bugs in the callchain implementation by some arch. Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org> Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: He Kuang <hekuang@huawei.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com> Cc: Zefan Li <lizefan@huawei.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-3b4wnqk340c4sg4gwkfdi9yk@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/sysctl.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/sysctl.c9
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/sysctl.c b/kernel/sysctl.c
index 0ec6907a16b3..bec4c11c47d6 100644
--- a/kernel/sysctl.c
+++ b/kernel/sysctl.c
@@ -1156,6 +1156,15 @@ static struct ctl_table kern_table[] = {
.extra1 = &zero,
.extra2 = &six_hundred_forty_kb,
},
+ {
+ .procname = "perf_event_max_contexts_per_stack",
+ .data = &sysctl_perf_event_max_contexts_per_stack,
+ .maxlen = sizeof(sysctl_perf_event_max_contexts_per_stack),
+ .mode = 0644,
+ .proc_handler = perf_event_max_stack_handler,
+ .extra1 = &zero,
+ .extra2 = &one_thousand,
+ },
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_KMEMCHECK
{