summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/tsacct.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2010-10-27 15:34:45 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-10-27 18:03:17 -0700
commitd57af9b2142f31a39dcfdeb30776baadfc802827 (patch)
treea89233b1e57b152c9bebf7bb516dd51920602969 /kernel/tsacct.c
parent3d9e0cf1fe007b88db55d43dfdb6839e1a029ca5 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-d57af9b2142f31a39dcfdeb30776baadfc802827.tar.gz
taskstats: use real microsecond granularity for CPU times
The taskstats interface uses microsecond granularity for the user and system time values. The conversion from cputime to the taskstats values uses the cputime_to_msecs primitive which effectively limits the granularity to milliseconds. Add the cputime_to_usecs primitive for architectures that have better, more precise CPU time values. Remove cputime_to_msecs primitive because there are no more users left. Signed-off-by: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Luck Tony <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Shailabh Nagar <nagar1234@in.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Shailabh Nagar <nagar@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/tsacct.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/tsacct.c10
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/tsacct.c b/kernel/tsacct.c
index 0a67e041edf8..24dc60d9fa1f 100644
--- a/kernel/tsacct.c
+++ b/kernel/tsacct.c
@@ -63,12 +63,10 @@ void bacct_add_tsk(struct taskstats *stats, struct task_struct *tsk)
stats->ac_ppid = pid_alive(tsk) ?
rcu_dereference(tsk->real_parent)->tgid : 0;
rcu_read_unlock();
- stats->ac_utime = cputime_to_msecs(tsk->utime) * USEC_PER_MSEC;
- stats->ac_stime = cputime_to_msecs(tsk->stime) * USEC_PER_MSEC;
- stats->ac_utimescaled =
- cputime_to_msecs(tsk->utimescaled) * USEC_PER_MSEC;
- stats->ac_stimescaled =
- cputime_to_msecs(tsk->stimescaled) * USEC_PER_MSEC;
+ stats->ac_utime = cputime_to_usecs(tsk->utime);
+ stats->ac_stime = cputime_to_usecs(tsk->stime);
+ stats->ac_utimescaled = cputime_to_usecs(tsk->utimescaled);
+ stats->ac_stimescaled = cputime_to_usecs(tsk->stimescaled);
stats->ac_minflt = tsk->min_flt;
stats->ac_majflt = tsk->maj_flt;