summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/smpboot.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2016-03-01cpu/hotplug: Create hotplug threadsThomas Gleixner-0/+2
In order to let the hotplugged cpu take care of the setup/teardown, we need a seperate hotplug thread. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa@mit.edu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Sebastian Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160226182341.454541272@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2016-03-01cpu/hotplug: Unpark smpboot threads from the state machineThomas Gleixner-2/+2
Handle the smpboot threads in the state machine. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: "Srivatsa S. Bhat" <srivatsa@mit.edu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Sebastian Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160226182341.295777684@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-08-13smpboot: Provide infrastructure for percpu hotplug threadsThomas Gleixner-0/+4
Provide a generic interface for setting up and tearing down percpu threads. On registration the threads for already online cpus are created and started. On deregistration (modules) the threads are stoppped. During hotplug operations the threads are created, started, parked and unparked. The datastructure for registration provides a pointer to percpu storage space and optional setup, cleanup, park, unpark functions. These functions are called when the thread state changes. Each implementation has to provide a function which is queried and returns whether the thread should run and the thread function itself. The core code handles all state transitions and avoids duplicated code in the call sites. [ paulmck: Preemption leak fix ] Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120716103948.352501068@linutronix.de Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-06-11smpboot: Remove leftover declarationThomas Gleixner-2/+0
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-05-04smp: Fix idle_thread_init() inline stubThomas Gleixner-1/+1
idle_thread_init() does not have arguments. Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-05-03smp, idle: Allocate idle thread for each possible cpu during bootSuresh Siddha-0/+2
percpu areas are already allocated during boot for each possible cpu. percpu idle threads can be considered as an extension of the percpu areas, and allocate them for each possible cpu during boot. This will eliminate the need for workqueue based idle thread allocation. In future we can move the idle thread area into the percpu area too. [ tglx: Moved the loop into smpboot.c and added an error check when the init code failed to allocate an idle thread for a cpu which should be onlined ] Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: venki@google.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1334966930.28674.245.camel@sbsiddha-desk.sc.intel.com Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2012-04-26smp: Provide generic idle thread allocationThomas Gleixner-0/+10
All SMP architectures have magic to fork the idle task and to store it for reusage when cpu hotplug is enabled. Provide a generic infrastructure for it. Create/reinit the idle thread for the cpu which is brought up in the generic code and hand the thread pointer to the architecture code via __cpu_up(). Note, that fork_idle() is called via a workqueue, because this guarantees that the idle thread does not get a reference to a user space VM. This can happen when the boot process did not bring up all possible cpus and a later cpu_up() is initiated via the sysfs interface. In that case fork_idle() would be called in the context of the user space task and take a reference on the user space VM. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: x86@kernel.org Acked-by: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124557.102478630@linutronix.de
2012-04-26smp: Add generic smpboot facilityThomas Gleixner-0/+6
Start a new file, which will hold SMP and CPU hotplug related generic infrastructure. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: x86@kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120420124557.035417523@linutronix.de