summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-10-14 09:26:59 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-10-14 12:50:26 +0200
commitb483cf3bc249d7af706390efa63d6671e80d1c09 (patch)
tree38c2cbb6e3dd37a8ce37d72da96755c504478a20
parentc7e2f69d3ed2e56de1f5eaaf37c0f5f91d7adb0a (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-b483cf3bc249d7af706390efa63d6671e80d1c09.tar.gz
locking/lockdep: Disable cross-release features for now
Johan Hovold reported a big lockdep slowdown on his system, caused by lockdep: > I had noticed that the BeagleBone Black boot time appeared to have > increased significantly with 4.14 and yesterday I finally had time to > investigate it. > > Boot time (from "Linux version" to login prompt) had in fact doubled > since 4.13 where it took 17 seconds (with my current config) compared to > the 35 seconds I now see with 4.14-rc4. > > I quick bisect pointed to lockdep and specifically the following commit: > > 28a903f63ec0 ("locking/lockdep: Handle non(or multi)-acquisition of a crosslock") Because the final v4.14 release is close, disable the cross-release lockdep features for now. Bisected-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org> Debugged-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org> Reported-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com> Cc: kernel-team@lge.com Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: linux-omap@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171014072659.f2yr6mhm5ha3eou7@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--lib/Kconfig.debug4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig.debug b/lib/Kconfig.debug
index 2689b7c50c52..e2705843c524 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/lib/Kconfig.debug
@@ -1092,8 +1092,8 @@ config PROVE_LOCKING
select DEBUG_MUTEXES
select DEBUG_RT_MUTEXES if RT_MUTEXES
select DEBUG_LOCK_ALLOC
- select LOCKDEP_CROSSRELEASE
- select LOCKDEP_COMPLETIONS
+ select LOCKDEP_CROSSRELEASE if BROKEN
+ select LOCKDEP_COMPLETIONS if BROKEN
select TRACE_IRQFLAGS
default n
help