summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRicardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>2017-11-05 18:27:51 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-12-17 13:54:34 +0100
commita8b4db562e7283a1520f9e9730297ecaab7622ea (patch)
treeb8fcd824ee684e2248835f98b2d78c47db4280d9
parente5d77a73f364ba0e3e3d6c72c334324bb12e04fc (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-a8b4db562e7283a1520f9e9730297ecaab7622ea.tar.gz
x86/cpufeature: Add User-Mode Instruction Prevention definitions
[ Note, this is a Git cherry-pick of the following commit: (limited to the cpufeatures.h file) 3522c2a6a4f3 ("x86/cpufeature: Add User-Mode Instruction Prevention definitions") ... for easier x86 PTI code testing and back-porting. ] User-Mode Instruction Prevention is a security feature present in new Intel processors that, when set, prevents the execution of a subset of instructions if such instructions are executed in user mode (CPL > 0). Attempting to execute such instructions causes a general protection exception. The subset of instructions comprises: * SGDT - Store Global Descriptor Table * SIDT - Store Interrupt Descriptor Table * SLDT - Store Local Descriptor Table * SMSW - Store Machine Status Word * STR - Store Task Register This feature is also added to the list of disabled-features to allow a cleaner handling of build-time configuration. Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@amd.com> Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org> Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: ricardo.neri@intel.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1509935277-22138-7-git-send-email-ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
index cdf5be866863..c0b0e9e8aa66 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
@@ -296,6 +296,7 @@
/* Intel-defined CPU features, CPUID level 0x00000007:0 (ECX), word 16 */
#define X86_FEATURE_AVX512VBMI (16*32+ 1) /* AVX512 Vector Bit Manipulation instructions*/
+#define X86_FEATURE_UMIP (16*32+ 2) /* User Mode Instruction Protection */
#define X86_FEATURE_PKU (16*32+ 3) /* Protection Keys for Userspace */
#define X86_FEATURE_OSPKE (16*32+ 4) /* OS Protection Keys Enable */
#define X86_FEATURE_AVX512_VBMI2 (16*32+ 6) /* Additional AVX512 Vector Bit Manipulation Instructions */