summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>2016-04-15 15:50:32 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-04-16 11:18:21 +0200
commit1e2ae9ec072f3b7887f456426bc2cf23b80f661a (patch)
treec462934c0d65342f0bfd265920c55e17fa2e7fcd /arch
parent2e572599139d27db3aaf540b0d34f0a4f58dfca1 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-1e2ae9ec072f3b7887f456426bc2cf23b80f661a.tar.gz
x86/hyperv: Avoid reporting bogus NMI status for Gen2 instances
Generation2 instances don't support reporting the NMI status on port 0x61, read from there returns 'ff' and we end up reporting nonsensical PCI error (as there is no PCI bus in these instances) on all NMIs: NMI: PCI system error (SERR) for reason ff on CPU 0. Dazed and confused, but trying to continue Fix the issue by overriding x86_platform.get_nmi_reason. Use 'booted on EFI' flag to detect Gen2 instances. Signed-off-by: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Cathy Avery <cavery@redhat.com> Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: K. Y. Srinivasan <kys@microsoft.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: devel@linuxdriverproject.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1460728232-31433-1-git-send-email-vkuznets@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mshyperv.c12
1 files changed, 12 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mshyperv.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mshyperv.c
index 4e7c6933691c..10c11b4da31d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mshyperv.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/mshyperv.c
@@ -152,6 +152,11 @@ static struct clocksource hyperv_cs = {
.flags = CLOCK_SOURCE_IS_CONTINUOUS,
};
+static unsigned char hv_get_nmi_reason(void)
+{
+ return 0;
+}
+
static void __init ms_hyperv_init_platform(void)
{
/*
@@ -191,6 +196,13 @@ static void __init ms_hyperv_init_platform(void)
machine_ops.crash_shutdown = hv_machine_crash_shutdown;
#endif
mark_tsc_unstable("running on Hyper-V");
+
+ /*
+ * Generation 2 instances don't support reading the NMI status from
+ * 0x61 port.
+ */
+ if (efi_enabled(EFI_BOOT))
+ x86_platform.get_nmi_reason = hv_get_nmi_reason;
}
const __refconst struct hypervisor_x86 x86_hyper_ms_hyperv = {