summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/pgtable.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>2020-06-08 21:33:54 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-06-09 09:39:14 -0700
commitc1e8d7c6a7a682e1405e3e242d32fc377fd196ff (patch)
treeef02402b77990834fbb5bdb1f146fc0393cc8987 /include/linux/pgtable.h
parent3e4e28c5a8f01ee4174d639e36ed155ade489a6f (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-c1e8d7c6a7a682e1405e3e242d32fc377fd196ff.tar.gz
mmap locking API: convert mmap_sem comments
Convert comments that reference mmap_sem to reference mmap_lock instead. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up linux-next leftovers] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/lockaphore/lock/, per Vlastimil] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: more linux-next fixups, per Michel] Signed-off-by: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Reviewed-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Liam Howlett <Liam.Howlett@oracle.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200520052908.204642-13-walken@google.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/linux/pgtable.h')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/pgtable.h6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/pgtable.h b/include/linux/pgtable.h
index 90a5d0c78fca..32b6c52d41b9 100644
--- a/include/linux/pgtable.h
+++ b/include/linux/pgtable.h
@@ -1134,11 +1134,11 @@ static inline pmd_t pmd_read_atomic(pmd_t *pmdp)
#endif
/*
* This function is meant to be used by sites walking pagetables with
- * the mmap_sem hold in read mode to protect against MADV_DONTNEED and
+ * the mmap_lock held in read mode to protect against MADV_DONTNEED and
* transhuge page faults. MADV_DONTNEED can convert a transhuge pmd
* into a null pmd and the transhuge page fault can convert a null pmd
* into an hugepmd or into a regular pmd (if the hugepage allocation
- * fails). While holding the mmap_sem in read mode the pmd becomes
+ * fails). While holding the mmap_lock in read mode the pmd becomes
* stable and stops changing under us only if it's not null and not a
* transhuge pmd. When those races occurs and this function makes a
* difference vs the standard pmd_none_or_clear_bad, the result is
@@ -1148,7 +1148,7 @@ static inline pmd_t pmd_read_atomic(pmd_t *pmdp)
*
* For 32bit kernels with a 64bit large pmd_t this automatically takes
* care of reading the pmd atomically to avoid SMP race conditions
- * against pmd_populate() when the mmap_sem is hold for reading by the
+ * against pmd_populate() when the mmap_lock is hold for reading by the
* caller (a special atomic read not done by "gcc" as in the generic
* version above, is also needed when THP is disabled because the page
* fault can populate the pmd from under us).