summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com>2015-03-25 12:49:26 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-04-02 13:25:51 +0200
commit9811e35359d4b18baf5bb603b225e957255b9c46 (patch)
treeba65e75bc85cb6e570a17a48408b202161bbcd05 /init
parent5c7fc2d27d004f28f3a94b35edd40e68f779e35a (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-9811e35359d4b18baf5bb603b225e957255b9c46.tar.gz
samples/bpf: Add kmem_alloc()/free() tracker tool
One BPF program attaches to kmem_cache_alloc_node() and remembers all allocated objects in the map. Another program attaches to kmem_cache_free() and deletes corresponding object from the map. User space walks the map every second and prints any objects which are older than 1 second. Usage: $ sudo tracex4 Then start few long living processes. The 'tracex4' will print something like this: obj 0xffff880465928000 is 13sec old was allocated at ip ffffffff8105dc32 obj 0xffff88043181c280 is 13sec old was allocated at ip ffffffff8105dc32 obj 0xffff880465848000 is 8sec old was allocated at ip ffffffff8105dc32 obj 0xffff8804338bc280 is 15sec old was allocated at ip ffffffff8105dc32 $ addr2line -fispe vmlinux ffffffff8105dc32 do_fork at fork.c:1665 As soon as processes exit the memory is reclaimed and 'tracex4' prints nothing. Similar experiment can be done with the __kmalloc()/kfree() pair. Signed-off-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1427312966-8434-10-git-send-email-ast@plumgrid.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions