summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/elfcore.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDaisuke HATAYAMA <d.hatayama@jp.fujitsu.com>2010-03-05 13:44:10 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-03-06 11:26:46 -0800
commit8d9032bbe4671dc481261ccd4e161cd96e54b118 (patch)
treea31d22f488f7d6789259da68c53cb2727a925fa8 /kernel/elfcore.c
parent93eb211e6c9ff6054fcf9c5b9e344d8d9ad29175 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-8d9032bbe4671dc481261ccd4e161cd96e54b118.tar.gz
elf coredump: add extended numbering support
The current ELF dumper implementation can produce broken corefiles if program headers exceed 65535. This number is determined by the number of vmas which the process have. In particular, some extreme programs may use more than 65535 vmas. (If you google max_map_count, you can find some users facing this problem.) This kind of program never be able to generate correct coredumps. This patch implements ``extended numbering'' that uses sh_info field of the first section header instead of e_phnum field in order to represent upto 4294967295 vmas. This is supported by AMD64-ABI(http://www.x86-64.org/documentation.html) and Solaris(http://docs.sun.com/app/docs/doc/817-1984/). Of course, we are preparing patches for gdb and binutils. Signed-off-by: Daisuke HATAYAMA <d.hatayama@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@snapgear.com> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/elfcore.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/elfcore.c5
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/elfcore.c b/kernel/elfcore.c
index 5445741f4b4c..ff915efef66d 100644
--- a/kernel/elfcore.c
+++ b/kernel/elfcore.c
@@ -21,3 +21,8 @@ int __weak elf_core_write_extra_data(struct file *file, size_t *size,
{
return 1;
}
+
+size_t __weak elf_core_extra_data_size(void)
+{
+ return 0;
+}