summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/futex_compat.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>2014-02-01 18:54:11 -0800
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>2014-02-02 14:09:12 -0800
commit81993e81a994504f4c8b97d3410c9a052cdbcc9d (patch)
tree7471cde617f11dad2f29187daa764e1d119a9731 /kernel/futex_compat.c
parent5cb480f6b488128140c940abff3c36f524a334a8 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-81993e81a994504f4c8b97d3410c9a052cdbcc9d.tar.gz
compat: Get rid of (get|put)_compat_time(val|spec)
We have two APIs for compatiblity timespec/val, with confusingly similar names. compat_(get|put)_time(val|spec) *do* handle the case where COMPAT_USE_64BIT_TIME is set, whereas (get|put)_compat_time(val|spec) do not. This is an accident waiting to happen. Clean it up by favoring the full-service version; the limited version is replaced with double-underscore versions static to kernel/compat.c. A common pattern is to convert a struct timespec to kernel format in an allocation on the user stack. Unfortunately it is open-coded in several places. Since this allocation isn't actually needed if COMPAT_USE_64BIT_TIME is true (since user format == kernel format) encapsulate that whole pattern into the function compat_convert_timespec(). An equivalent function should be written for struct timeval if it is needed in the future. Finally, get rid of compat_(get|put)_timeval_convert(): each was only used once, and the latter was not even doing what the function said (no conversion actually was being done.) Moving the conversion into compat_sys_settimeofday() itself makes the code much more similar to sys_settimeofday() itself. v3: Remove unused compat_convert_timeval(). v2: Drop bogus "const" in the destination argument for compat_convert_time*(). Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <m.chehab@samsung.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Cc: Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Tested-by: H.J. Lu <hjl.tools@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/futex_compat.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/futex_compat.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/futex_compat.c b/kernel/futex_compat.c
index f9f44fd4d34d..55c8c9349cfe 100644
--- a/kernel/futex_compat.c
+++ b/kernel/futex_compat.c
@@ -183,7 +183,7 @@ COMPAT_SYSCALL_DEFINE6(futex, u32 __user *, uaddr, int, op, u32, val,
if (utime && (cmd == FUTEX_WAIT || cmd == FUTEX_LOCK_PI ||
cmd == FUTEX_WAIT_BITSET ||
cmd == FUTEX_WAIT_REQUEUE_PI)) {
- if (get_compat_timespec(&ts, utime))
+ if (compat_get_timespec(&ts, utime))
return -EFAULT;
if (!timespec_valid(&ts))
return -EINVAL;