summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJoonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>2016-05-19 17:10:49 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-05-19 19:12:14 -0700
commit0139aa7b7fa12ceef095d99dc36606a5b10ab83a (patch)
tree94da74f2f79911a11a3c7c34f73ba971dec41a7e /kernel
parent6d061f9f6136d477932088c24ce155d7dc785746 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-0139aa7b7fa12ceef095d99dc36606a5b10ab83a.tar.gz
mm: rename _count, field of the struct page, to _refcount
Many developers already know that field for reference count of the struct page is _count and atomic type. They would try to handle it directly and this could break the purpose of page reference count tracepoint. To prevent direct _count modification, this patch rename it to _refcount and add warning message on the code. After that, developer who need to handle reference count will find that field should not be accessed directly. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix comments, per Vlastimil] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: Documentation/vm/transhuge.txt too] [sfr@canb.auug.org.au: sync ethernet driver changes] Signed-off-by: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Sunil Goutham <sgoutham@cavium.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Cc: Manish Chopra <manish.chopra@qlogic.com> Cc: Yuval Mintz <yuval.mintz@qlogic.com> Cc: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com> Cc: Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/kexec_core.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/kexec_core.c b/kernel/kexec_core.c
index 1391d3ee3b86..1c03dfb4abfd 100644
--- a/kernel/kexec_core.c
+++ b/kernel/kexec_core.c
@@ -1410,7 +1410,7 @@ static int __init crash_save_vmcoreinfo_init(void)
VMCOREINFO_STRUCT_SIZE(list_head);
VMCOREINFO_SIZE(nodemask_t);
VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, flags);
- VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, _count);
+ VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, _refcount);
VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, mapping);
VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, lru);
VMCOREINFO_OFFSET(page, _mapcount);