summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib/decompress.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorYinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>2014-08-08 14:23:14 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-08-08 15:57:26 -0700
commitd97b07c54f34e88352ebe676beb798c8f59ac588 (patch)
tree3b864aca26ab13d9fdcdca3d1bdabc69830cea01 /lib/decompress.c
parent38747439914c468ecba70b492b54dc4ef0b50453 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-d97b07c54f34e88352ebe676beb798c8f59ac588.tar.gz
initramfs: support initramfs that is bigger than 2GiB
Now with 64bit bzImage and kexec tools, we support ramdisk that size is bigger than 2g, as we could put it above 4G. Found compressed initramfs image could not be decompressed properly. It turns out that image length is int during decompress detection, and it will become < 0 when length is more than 2G. Furthermore, during decompressing len as int is used for inbuf count, that has problem too. Change len to long, that should be ok as on 32 bit platform long is 32bits. Tested with following compressed initramfs image as root with kexec. gzip, bzip2, xz, lzma, lzop, lz4. run time for populate_rootfs(): size name Nehalem-EX Westmere-EX Ivybridge-EX 9034400256 root_img : 26s 24s 30s 3561095057 root_img.lz4 : 28s 27s 27s 3459554629 root_img.lzo : 29s 29s 28s 3219399480 root_img.gz : 64s 62s 49s 2251594592 root_img.xz : 262s 260s 183s 2226366598 root_img.lzma: 386s 376s 277s 2901482513 root_img.bz2 : 635s 599s Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@gmail.com> Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Kyungsik Lee <kyungsik.lee@lge.com> Cc: P J P <ppandit@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp> Cc: "Daniel M. Weeks" <dan@danweeks.net> Cc: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@nvidia.com> Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib/decompress.c')
-rw-r--r--lib/decompress.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/lib/decompress.c b/lib/decompress.c
index 86069d74c062..37f3c786348f 100644
--- a/lib/decompress.c
+++ b/lib/decompress.c
@@ -54,7 +54,7 @@ static const struct compress_format compressed_formats[] __initconst = {
{ {0, 0}, NULL, NULL }
};
-decompress_fn __init decompress_method(const unsigned char *inbuf, int len,
+decompress_fn __init decompress_method(const unsigned char *inbuf, long len,
const char **name)
{
const struct compress_format *cf;