summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2015-04-18 22:34:39 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-04-29 10:37:46 -0300
commit16671c1e1cac2dbb995feb4bc55082fd939b5c2c (patch)
tree63496e804951a9aff61c897dd41d576c546b21d5 /tools/Makefile
parent379a9a28a1b4364ab08fec35c84d39cf4995c509 (diff)
downloadlinux-sh-16671c1e1cac2dbb995feb4bc55082fd939b5c2c.tar.gz
tools build: Fix Makefile(s) to properly invoke tools build
Several fixes were needed to allow following builds: $ make tools/tmon $ make -C <kernelsrc> tools/perf $ make -C <kernelsrc>/tools perf - some of the tools (perf) use same make variables as in kernel build, unsetting srctree and objtree - using original $(O) for O variable - perf build does not follow the descend function setup invoking it via it's own make rule I tried the rest of the tools/Makefile targets and they seem to work now. Reported-by: Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1429389280-18720-3-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/Makefile')
-rw-r--r--tools/Makefile12
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/Makefile b/tools/Makefile
index 01995cc8ac44..b35102721cbb 100644
--- a/tools/Makefile
+++ b/tools/Makefile
@@ -1,3 +1,8 @@
+# Some of the tools (perf) use same make variables
+# as in kernel build.
+export srctree=
+export objtree=
+
include scripts/Makefile.include
help:
@@ -50,8 +55,13 @@ liblockdep: FORCE
libapi: FORCE
$(call descend,lib/api)
+# The perf build does not follow the descend function setup,
+# invoking it via it's own make rule.
+PERF_O = $(if $(O),$(O)/tools/perf,)
+
perf: FORCE
- $(call descend,$@)
+ $(Q)mkdir -p $(PERF_O) .
+ $(Q)$(MAKE) --no-print-directory -C perf O=$(PERF_O) subdir=
selftests: FORCE
$(call descend,testing/$@)