summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/spinlocks.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2014-08-13locking/Documentation: Move locking related docs into Documentation/locking/Davidlohr Bueso-167/+0
Specifically: Documentation/locking/lockdep-design.txt Documentation/locking/lockstat.txt Documentation/locking/mutex-design.txt Documentation/locking/rt-mutex-design.txt Documentation/locking/rt-mutex.txt Documentation/locking/spinlocks.txt Documentation/locking/ww-mutex-design.txt Signed-off-by: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: jason.low2@hp.com Cc: aswin@hp.com Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@plumgrid.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com> Cc: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com> Cc: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fusionio.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@v3.sk> Cc: Masanari Iida <standby24x7@gmail.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: fengguang.wu@intel.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1406752916-3341-6-git-send-email-davidlohr@hp.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2013-06-19sched: Rename sched.c as sched/core.c in comments and DocumentationViresh Kumar-1/+1
Most of the stuff from kernel/sched.c was moved to kernel/sched/core.c long time back and the comments/Documentation never got updated. I figured it out when I was going through sched-domains.txt and so thought of fixing it globally. I haven't crossed check if the stuff that is referenced in sched/core.c by all these files is still present and hasn't changed as that wasn't the motive behind this patch. Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/cdff76a265326ab8d71922a1db5be599f20aad45.1370329560.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2011-07-11Documentation/spinlocks.txt: Remove reference to sti()/cli()Muthu Kumar-38/+7
Since we removed sti()/cli() and related, how about removing it from Documentation/spinlocks.txt? Signed-off-by: Muthukumar R <muthur@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-01-27locking: Remove deprecated lock initializersThomas Gleixner-23/+1
Last users are gone. Remove the left overs. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2009-12-14Documentation: rw_lock lessons learnedWilliam Allen Simpson-100/+84
In recent months, two different network projects erroneously strayed down the rw_lock path. Update the Documentation based upon comments by Eric Dumazet and Paul E. McKenney in those threads. Further updates await somebody else with more expertise. Changes: - Merged with extensive content by Stephen Hemminger. - Fix one of the comments by Linus Torvalds. Signed-off-by: William.Allen.Simpson@gmail.com Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-04-11Add additional examples in Documentation/spinlocks.txtMark Fasheh-0/+22
Checkpatch will throw an error if code doesn't use the correct initializers for static spinlocks: ERROR: Use of SPIN_LOCK_UNLOCKED is deprecated: see Documentation/spinlocks.txt This is fine, but Documentation/spinlocks.txt isn't very clear on how to _use_ the new initializers for static variables. To save people time in the future, I added two small examples of how to fix old-style static initializers to be more lockdep friendly. Signed-off-by: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
2007-07-16docs: static initialization of spinlocks is OKEd L. Cashin-9/+11
Static initialization of spinlocks is preferable to dynamic initialization when it is practical. This patch updates documentation for consistency with comments in spinlock_types.h. Signed-off-by: Ed L. Cashin <ecashin@coraid.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2006-03-22fix rwlock usage exampleLucas Correia Villa Real-1/+1
This is a trivial patch which fixes a typo on rwlock usage under Documentation/spinlocks.txt. Signed-Off-By: Lucas Correia Villa Real <lucasvr@gobolinux.org> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds-0/+212
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!