summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/crypto/zlib.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2014-11-24crypto: prefix module autoloading with "crypto-"Kees Cook-0/+1
This prefixes all crypto module loading with "crypto-" so we never run the risk of exposing module auto-loading to userspace via a crypto API, as demonstrated by Mathias Krause: https://lkml.org/lkml/2013/3/4/70 Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Signed-off-by: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
2014-08-08initramfs: support initramfs that is bigger than 2GiBYinghai Lu-4/+4
Now with 64bit bzImage and kexec tools, we support ramdisk that size is bigger than 2g, as we could put it above 4G. Found compressed initramfs image could not be decompressed properly. It turns out that image length is int during decompress detection, and it will become < 0 when length is more than 2G. Furthermore, during decompressing len as int is used for inbuf count, that has problem too. Change len to long, that should be ok as on 32 bit platform long is 32bits. Tested with following compressed initramfs image as root with kexec. gzip, bzip2, xz, lzma, lzop, lz4. run time for populate_rootfs(): size name Nehalem-EX Westmere-EX Ivybridge-EX 9034400256 root_img : 26s 24s 30s 3561095057 root_img.lz4 : 28s 27s 27s 3459554629 root_img.lzo : 29s 29s 28s 3219399480 root_img.gz : 64s 62s 49s 2251594592 root_img.xz : 262s 260s 183s 2226366598 root_img.lzma: 386s 376s 277s 2901482513 root_img.bz2 : 635s 599s Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@gmail.com> Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Kyungsik Lee <kyungsik.lee@lge.com> Cc: P J P <ppandit@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp> Cc: "Daniel M. Weeks" <dan@danweeks.net> Cc: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@nvidia.com> Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-06-29net+crypto: Use vmalloc for zlib inflate buffers.David S. Miller-4/+3
They are 64K and result in order-4 allocations, even with SLUB. Therefore, just like we always have for the deflate buffers, use vmalloc. Reported-by: Martin Jackson <mjackson220.list@gmail.com> Acked-by: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
2011-03-22zlib: slim down zlib_deflate() workspace when possibleJim Keniston-7/+11
Instead of always creating a huge (268K) deflate_workspace with the maximum compression parameters (windowBits=15, memLevel=8), allow the caller to obtain a smaller workspace by specifying smaller parameter values. For example, when capturing oops and panic reports to a medium with limited capacity, such as NVRAM, compression may be the only way to capture the whole report. In this case, a small workspace (24K works fine) is a win, whether you allocate the workspace when you need it (i.e., during an oops or panic) or at boot time. I've verified that this patch works with all accepted values of windowBits (positive and negative), memLevel, and compression level. Signed-off-by: Jim Keniston <jkenisto@us.ibm.com> Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-11-27crypto: Use vzallocJoe Perches-2/+1
Signed-off-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Signed-off-by: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
2009-06-02crypto: compress - Return produced bytes in crypto_{,de}compress_{update,final}Geert Uytterhoeven-12/+12
If crypto_{,de}compress_{update,final}() succeed, return the actual number of bytes produced instead of zero, so their users don't have to calculate that theirselves. Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com> Signed-off-by: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
2009-03-04crypto: zlib - New zlib crypto module, using pcompGeert Uytterhoeven-0/+378
Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Signed-off-by: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>