summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/decompress/generic.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2014-08-08initramfs: support initramfs that is bigger than 2GiBYinghai Lu-5/+5
Now with 64bit bzImage and kexec tools, we support ramdisk that size is bigger than 2g, as we could put it above 4G. Found compressed initramfs image could not be decompressed properly. It turns out that image length is int during decompress detection, and it will become < 0 when length is more than 2G. Furthermore, during decompressing len as int is used for inbuf count, that has problem too. Change len to long, that should be ok as on 32 bit platform long is 32bits. Tested with following compressed initramfs image as root with kexec. gzip, bzip2, xz, lzma, lzop, lz4. run time for populate_rootfs(): size name Nehalem-EX Westmere-EX Ivybridge-EX 9034400256 root_img : 26s 24s 30s 3561095057 root_img.lz4 : 28s 27s 27s 3459554629 root_img.lzo : 29s 29s 28s 3219399480 root_img.gz : 64s 62s 49s 2251594592 root_img.xz : 262s 260s 183s 2226366598 root_img.lzma: 386s 376s 277s 2901482513 root_img.bz2 : 635s 599s Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Rashika Kheria <rashika.kheria@gmail.com> Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Kyungsik Lee <kyungsik.lee@lge.com> Cc: P J P <ppandit@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp> Cc: "Daniel M. Weeks" <dan@danweeks.net> Cc: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@nvidia.com> Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-08-07bzip2/lzma/gzip: fix comments describing decompressor APIPhillip Lougher-13/+19
Fix and improve comments in decompress/generic.h that describe the decompressor API. Also remove an unused definition, and rename INBUF_LEN in lib/decompress_inflate.c to conform to bzip2/lzma naming. Signed-off-by: Phillip Lougher <phillip@lougher.demon.co.uk> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-01-08bzip2/lzma: centralize format detectionH. Peter Anvin-0/+3
Centralize the compression format detection to a common routine in the lib directory, and use it for both initramfs and initrd. Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
2009-01-04bzip2/lzma: library support for gzip, bzip2 and lzma decompressionAlain Knaff-0/+30
Impact: Replaces inflate.c with a wrapper around zlib_inflate; new library code This is the first part of the bzip2/lzma patch The bzip patch is based on an idea by Christian Ludwig, includes support for compressing the kernel with bzip2 or lzma rather than gzip. Both compressors give smaller sizes than gzip. Lzma's decompresses faster than bzip2. It also supports ramdisks and initramfs' compressed using these two compressors. The functionality has been successfully used for a couple of years by the udpcast project This version applies to "tip" kernel 2.6.28 This part contains: - changed inflate.c to accomodate rest of patch - implementation of bzip2 compression (not used at this stage yet) - implementation of lzma compression (not used at this stage yet) - Makefile routines to support bzip2 and lzma kernel compression Signed-off-by: Alain Knaff <alain@knaff.lu> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>