summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/linux/pgtable.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2020-06-20mm: Allow arches to provide ptep_get()Christophe Leroy-0/+7
Since commit 9e343b467c70 ("READ_ONCE: Enforce atomicity for {READ,WRITE}_ONCE() memory accesses") it is not possible anymore to use READ_ONCE() to access complex page table entries like the one defined for powerpc 8xx with 16k size pages. Define a ptep_get() helper that architectures can override instead of performing a READ_ONCE() on the page table entry pointer. Fixes: 9e343b467c70 ("READ_ONCE: Enforce atomicity for {READ,WRITE}_ONCE() memory accesses") Signed-off-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/087fa12b6e920e32315136b998aa834f99242695.1592225558.git.christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu
2020-06-09mmap locking API: convert mmap_sem commentsMichel Lespinasse-3/+3
Convert comments that reference mmap_sem to reference mmap_lock instead. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up linux-next leftovers] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/lockaphore/lock/, per Vlastimil] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: more linux-next fixups, per Michel] Signed-off-by: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Reviewed-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Liam Howlett <Liam.Howlett@oracle.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200520052908.204642-13-walken@google.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2020-06-09mm: consolidate pte_index() and pte_offset_*() definitionsMike Rapoport-0/+91
All architectures define pte_index() as (address >> PAGE_SHIFT) & (PTRS_PER_PTE - 1) and all architectures define pte_offset_kernel() as an entry in the array of PTEs indexed by the pte_index(). For the most architectures the pte_offset_kernel() implementation relies on the availability of pmd_page_vaddr() that converts a PMD entry value to the virtual address of the page containing PTEs array. Let's move x86 definitions of the PTE accessors to the generic place in <linux/pgtable.h> and then simply drop the respective definitions from the other architectures. The architectures that didn't provide pmd_page_vaddr() are updated to have that defined. The generic implementation of pte_offset_kernel() can be overridden by an architecture and alpha makes use of this because it has special ordering requirements for its version of pte_offset_kernel(). [rppt@linux.ibm.com: v2] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-11-rppt@kernel.org [rppt@linux.ibm.com: update] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-12-rppt@kernel.org [rppt@linux.ibm.com: update] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-13-rppt@kernel.org [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix x86 warning] [sfr@canb.auug.org.au: fix powerpc build] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200607153443.GB738695@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-10-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2020-06-09mm: pgtable: add shortcuts for accessing kernel PMD and PTEMike Rapoport-0/+24
The powerpc 32-bit implementation of pgtable has nice shortcuts for accessing kernel PMD and PTE for a given virtual address. Make these helpers available for all architectures. [rppt@linux.ibm.com: microblaze: fix page table traversal in setup_rt_frame()] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200518191511.GD1118872@kernel.org [akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/pmd_ptr_k/pmd_off_k/ in various powerpc places] Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-9-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2020-06-09mm: introduce include/linux/pgtable.hMike Rapoport-0/+1323
The include/linux/pgtable.h is going to be the home of generic page table manipulation functions. Start with moving asm-generic/pgtable.h to include/linux/pgtable.h and make the latter include asm/pgtable.h. Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vincent Chen <deanbo422@gmail.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200514170327.31389-3-rppt@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>