summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init/Makefile
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2012-05-05init_task: Replace CONFIG_HAVE_GENERIC_INIT_TASKThomas Gleixner-1/+4
Now that all archs except ia64 are converted, replace the config and let the ia64 select CONFIG_ARCH_INIT_TASK Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120503085035.867948914@linutronix.de
2012-05-05init_task: Create generic init_task instanceThomas Gleixner-0/+1
All archs define init_task in the same way (except ia64, but there is no particular reason why ia64 cannot use the common version). Create a generic instance so all archs can be converted over. The config switch is temporary and will be removed when all archs are converted over. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120503085034.092585287@linutronix.de
2009-12-12kbuild: move compile.h to include/generatedSam Ravnborg-6/+2
Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
2008-02-11kbuild: fix make V=1Sam Ravnborg-0/+1
When make -s support were added to filechk to combination created with make V=1 were not covered. Fix it by explicitly cover this case too. Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
2008-02-09kbuild: silence CHK/UPD messages according to $(quiet)Mike Frysinger-1/+3
Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2007-10-14kbuild: enable 'make CFLAGS=...' to add additional options to CCSam Ravnborg-1/+1
The variable CFLAGS is a wellknown variable and the usage by kbuild may result in unexpected behaviour. On top of that several people over time has asked for a way to pass in additional flags to gcc. This patch replace use of CFLAGS with KBUILD_CFLAGS all over the tree and enabling one to use: make CFLAGS=... to specify additional gcc commandline options. One usecase is when trying to find gcc bugs but other use cases has been requested too. Patch was tested on following architectures: alpha, arm, i386, x86_64, mips, sparc, sparc64, ia64, m68k Test was simple to do a defconfig build, apply the patch and check that nothing got rebuild. Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2007-02-11[PATCH] disable init/initramfs.cJean-Paul Saman-1/+6
The file init/initramfs.c is always compiled and linked in the kernel vmlinux even when BLK_DEV_RAM and BLK_DEV_INITRD are disabled and the system isn't using any form of an initramfs or initrd. In this situation the code is only used to unpack a (static) default initial rootfilesystem. The current init/initramfs.c code. usr/initramfs_data.o compiles to a size of ~15 kbytes. Disabling BLK_DEV_RAM and BLK_DEV_INTRD shrinks the kernel code size with ~60 Kbytes. This patch avoids compiling in the code and data for initramfs support if CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not defined. Instead of the initramfs code and data it uses a small routine in init/noinitramfs.c to setup an initial static default environment for mounting a rootfilesystem later on in the kernel initialisation process. The new code is: 164 bytes of size. The patch is separated in two parts: 1) doesn't compile initramfs code when CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not set 2) changing all plaforms vmlinux.lds.S files to not reserve an area of PAGE_SIZE when CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not set. [deweerdt@free.fr: warning fix] Signed-off-by: Jean-Paul Saman <jean-paul.saman@nxp.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Frederik Deweerdt <frederik.deweerdt@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-01-10[PATCH] fix linux banner format stringRoman Zippel-1/+9
Revert previous attempts at messing with the linux banner string and simply use a separate format string for proc. Signed-off-by: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Olaf Hering <olaf@aepfle.de> Acked-by: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org> Cc: Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org> Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-12-22[PATCH] build compile.h earlierAndrew Morton-9/+0
compile.h is created super-late in the build. But proc_misc.c want to include it, and it's generally not sane to have a header file in include/linux be created at the end of the build: it's either not present or, worse, wrong for most of the build. So the patch arranges for compile.h to be built at the start of the build process. It also consolidates the compile.h rules with those for version.h and utsname.h, so they all get built together. I hope. My chances of having got this right are about 2%. Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-12-08[PATCH] Fix linux banner utsname informationHerbert Poetzl-0/+1
utsname information is shown in the linux banner, which also is used for /proc/version (which can have different utsname values inside a uts namespaces). this patch makes the varying data arguments and changes the string to a format string, using those arguments. Signed-off-by: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-06-26[PATCH] devfs: Remove devfs from the init codeGreg Kroah-Hartman-1/+0
This patch removes the devfs code from the init/ directory. Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
2005-07-14kbuild: "PREEMPT" in UTS_VERSIONSam Ravnborg-1/+2
From: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com> Add PREEMPT to UTS_VERSION where enabled as is done for SMP to make preempt kernels easily identifiable. Added SMP PREEMPT as comment in compile.h to force it to be updated when they change (sam). Signed-off-by: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com> Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds-0/+28
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!