summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc/syscall.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2013-03-05get rid of union semop in sys_semctl(2) argumentsAl Viro-3/+3
just have the bugger take unsigned long and deal with SETVAL case (when we use an int member in the union) explicitly. Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
2012-07-30ipc: add COMPAT_SHMLBA supportWill Deacon-1/+1
If the SHMLBA definition for a native task differs from the definition for a compat task, the do_shmat() function would need to handle both. This patch introduces COMPAT_SHMLBA, which is used by the compat shmat syscall when calling the ipc code and allows architectures such as AArch64 (where the native SHMLBA is 64k but the compat (AArch32) definition is 16k) to provide the correct semantics for compat IPC system calls. Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-03-22ppc64 sys_ipc breakage in 2.6.34-rc2Anton Blanchard-1/+1
I chased down a fail on ppc64 on 2.6.34-rc2 where an application that uses shared memory was getting a SEGV. Commit baed7fc9b580bd3fb8252ff1d9b36eaf1f86b670 ("Add generic sys_ipc wrapper") changed the second argument from an unsigned long to an int. When we call shmget the system call wrappers for sys_ipc will sign extend second (ie the size) which truncates it. It took a while to track down because the call succeeds and strace shows the untruncated size :) The patch below changes second from an int to an unsigned long which fixes shmget on ppc64 (and I assume s390, sparc64 and mips64). Signed-off-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org> -- I assume the function prototypes for the other IPC methods would cause us to sign or zero extend second where appropriate (avoiding any security issues). Come to think of it, the syscall wrappers for each method should do that for us as well. Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-03-12Add generic sys_ipc wrapperChristoph Hellwig-0/+99
Add a generic implementation of the ipc demultiplexer syscall. Except for s390 and sparc64 all implementations of the sys_ipc are nearly identical. There are slight differences in the types of the parameters, where mips and powerpc as the only 64-bit architectures with sys_ipc use unsigned long for the "third" argument as it gets casted to a pointer later, while it traditionally is an "int" like most other paramters. frv goes even further and uses unsigned long for all parameters execept for "ptr" which is a pointer type everywhere. The change from int to unsigned long for "third" and back to "int" for the others on frv should be fine due to the in-register calling conventions for syscalls (we already had a similar issue with the generic sys_ptrace), but I'd prefer to have the arch maintainers looks over this in details. Except for that h8300, m68k and m68knommu lack an impplementation of the semtimedop sub call which this patch adds, and various architectures have gets used - at least on i386 it seems superflous as the compat code on x86-64 and ia64 doesn't even bother to implement it. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add sys_ipc to sys_ni.c] Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Reviewed-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>