summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/elfcore.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2013-11-09switch elf_core_write_extra_phdrs() to dump_emit()Al Viro-7/+3
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
2010-03-06elf coredump: add extended numbering supportDaisuke HATAYAMA-0/+5
The current ELF dumper implementation can produce broken corefiles if program headers exceed 65535. This number is determined by the number of vmas which the process have. In particular, some extreme programs may use more than 65535 vmas. (If you google max_map_count, you can find some users facing this problem.) This kind of program never be able to generate correct coredumps. This patch implements ``extended numbering'' that uses sh_info field of the first section header instead of e_phnum field in order to represent upto 4294967295 vmas. This is supported by AMD64-ABI(http://www.x86-64.org/documentation.html) and Solaris(http://docs.sun.com/app/docs/doc/817-1984/). Of course, we are preparing patches for gdb and binutils. Signed-off-by: Daisuke HATAYAMA <d.hatayama@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@snapgear.com> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-03-06elf coredump: replace ELF_CORE_EXTRA_* macros by functionsDaisuke HATAYAMA-0/+23
elf_core_dump() and elf_fdpic_core_dump() use #ifdef and the corresponding macro for hiding _multiline_ logics in functions. This patch removes #ifdef and replaces ELF_CORE_EXTRA_* by corresponding functions. For architectures not implemeonting ELF_CORE_EXTRA_*, we use weak functions in order to reduce a range of modification. This cleanup is for my next patches, but I think this cleanup itself is worth doing regardless of my firnal purpose. Signed-off-by: Daisuke HATAYAMA <d.hatayama@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@snapgear.com> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>