summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/backing-dev.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorLines
2007-03-16[PATCH] nfs: fix congestion controlPeter Zijlstra-0/+16
The current NFS client congestion logic is severly broken, it marks the backing device congested during each nfs_writepages() call but doesn't mirror this in nfs_writepage() which makes for deadlocks. Also it implements its own waitqueue. Replace this by a more regular congestion implementation that puts a cap on the number of active writeback pages and uses the bdi congestion waitqueue. Also always use an interruptible wait since it makes sense to be able to SIGKILL the process even for mounts without 'intr'. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Acked-by: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no> Cc: Christoph Lameter <clameter@engr.sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2006-10-20[PATCH] separate bdi congestion functions from queue congestion functionsAndrew Morton-0/+69
Separate out the concept of "queue congestion" from "backing-dev congestion". Congestion is a backing-dev concept, not a queue concept. The blk_* congestion functions are retained, as wrappers around the core backing-dev congestion functions. This proper layering is needed so that NFS can cleanly use the congestion functions, and so that CONFIG_BLOCK=n actually links. Cc: "Thomas Maier" <balagi@justmail.de> Cc: "Jens Axboe" <jens.axboe@oracle.com> Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Osterlund <petero2@telia.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>